Villanova University’s Career Fair 2013

September 11, 2013 

The Pavilion

Track II Event 

Potential Contacts Made: The Joy of Sox, Management Planning Inc., and Barclays 

 

Takeaway: Going to the Career Fair as a Freshman, I was not sure what to expect. After walking into the Pavilion I realized how many connections Villanova had in the job market, which definitely excites me for the future. After spending an hour walking around the Pavilion and making contacts with potential future employers, I left the Career Fair with many invaluable lessons under my belt. 

Lessons Learned:

1) Do not be afraid: at first I was a little timid and was not sure how to approach any representative. In the end, prospective employers are looking for students who are outgoing, polite, and presentable. With this and my parents advice to “be myself” in mind I decided to introduce myself to many representatives. Not only was this interaction great practice for future interviews and job fairs, but I potentially made some amazing contacts. 

2) Be prepared: Coming into the event, I had no idea what to expect or what to bring. As a freshman I have no real resume written, and I was uncertain of bringing my high school resume. For this reason, I had nothing to give to potential employers, however, every representative seemed eager and pleased to talk to a freshman and they all encouraged future contact. 

3) Experience: Experience is key. When I visit the career fair in years to come I now know how the whole experience works. For example, I now know to look in the career fair pamphlet to learn about companies and find those that capture my interest. For example, I had no idea that there were “Freshman Friendly” companies while I was walking around the Pavilion, which would have been a very good thing to know. 

Last Words: In the end, the career fair was definitely a positive, rewarding experience. I learned so much from my first visit to the fair, and I cannot wait to use the lessons I have learned in career fairs and interviews to come! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

